Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Jacen

[Support] Segmented downloading

8 posts in this topic

This will probably be seen as a strange question, but how do I disable the segmented downloading feature in apex dc? The reason I'm asking is because its not allowed on the hub I'm using...

-Jacen

This will probably be seen as a strange question, but how do I disable the segmented downloading feature in apex dc? The reason I'm asking is because its not allowed on the hub I'm using...

-Jacen

queue page in settings :)

hub can't detect whether you use segmented downloading so there's no reason to disable it :) just enable Emulation :)

I'm new to DC period. I've read most of this forum, but the reply to turn of segmented downloading was not clear enough for me.

I would like to turn it off. I lose my place when downloading from a busy person everytime the client stops and watis.

I can find no place on the settings/queue page that says turn off segmented downloading.

Please advise

Fia

I should add to my last post. I am using emulation on one hub and not on another. On both of them I am having this problem if the file is unique and no others are sharing the file. I am using 0.2.2. Running under Win2KPro.

I have certainly lost slots when the client went into waiting mode or more than several occasions. One of the people I had to wait for a full day for a slot.

I am not sure what the purpose of stopping every 1 MB of download serves. Until I turned off auto the client was getting 1MB of every file at the beginning and then going back to get the next 1MB of a file.

I am not used to DC in any form, so please bear with me and try to give me an answer I can understand. I am very familiar with sending/receiving files on IRC, ftp networks and usenet.

I'm not sure, since I didn't really test it yet, but the following option sounds to me like it would do the trick: