This guide explains the meaning of the options in the advanced settings page.
Auto-away on minimize (and back on restore) Default:OFF
if this option is on. When you minimize the application you will automaticly go into away mode meaning that your away message will be sent to anyone who pm's you. you will also appear as away in the user list. when you maximize the app you will automaticly be taken out of away mode
Automaticly Follow Redirects Default:ON
you can be issued a redirect for any number of reasons. you share is not bigger enough to enter a hub or you could have been sent a redirect by an op. If this option is on you software will automaticly go to the hub you where redirected to
Clear Search box after each search Default:ON
if this option is on then the search box will be cleared after each search. if it is Off then the text remains. note that this is not related to the search term history
Minimize at Program Startup Default:OFF
If this option is on. Each time you start the application it will start minimized in the system tray.
Use File extentions for Download to in search Default:ON
nope. cant work this one out
Remove Forbidden (unfinished Kazaa, Win MX, GetRight, eMule, ApexDC++) Default:ON
When this option is on you can provide a comma sepetated list of files to remove from you share. The list of files is set in the share skiplist (wildcard: *, separator: " text feild. An example of a list would be *.tmp;*.cab;*.ini;*.dll;
Install URL handler on startup (to handle dchub:// links) Default:ONif this is on it puts an entry in your registry to tell aplications wanting to use the dchub:// protocol should do so with ApexDC
Install Magnet URI handler on startup Default:ONif this is on it puts an entry in your registry to tell aplications wanting to the magnet uri scheme should do so with ApexDC
Don't Delete file lists when exitingDefault:OFF
If this opsion is on then any file list you download will be avaliable in your file lists folder next time the app starts. When it is off they are deleted when the app is closed.
Automaticly Disconnect users who leave the hub Default:OFF
When this option is ON. if a user leaves the hub and he is downloading from you in that hub. they will be disconnected
Dont automaticly disconnect favorite users who leave the hub Default:ON
if you have the above option set on. You can set this option to on so that if one of your fav users leaves the hub they will not be disconnected.
Dont send the away message to botsDefault:ON
When this option is on your away message will not be sent to bots e.g. message rooms and hub messages.
Break on first ADLSearch match Default:OFF
If you're using the ADLSearch features, having this option on will make a file show up in only the first search it matches. If disabled, it may appear multiple times.
Enable Safe and compressed transfers Default:ON
When transfering data with a compatible client, DC++ will try to use ZLIB compression with integrity checks. This uses some CPU cycles, but can dramatically speed up transfers of uncompressed files as well as ensure file integrity.
Accept custom user commands from hub Default:ON
This option lets you enable or disable DC++'s ability to retrieve custom commands from a remote hub. Custom User Commands may show when you click on the hub's tab, or on a user in the Transfer View, Search Window, or User List.
Always use passive mode for Search (use only if you know exactly what your doing) Default:OFF
if this is on it allows you to perform search results as a passive user but whilst still downloading as active user
send unknow /commands to the hub Default:OFF
If this is on and you type a message starting with foward slash in either the main chat or private chat. It will only me sent to the client if the client has a response it will send the response to the hub otherwise it will be droped
Add finished files to share instantly (if shared) Default:OFF
if this is on then when a file finishes downloading the your file list will be refreshed.
Use CTRL for line history Default:ON
if this is on then you can use the control and the up and down arrow keys to scroll through previous messages
Debug Commands Default:OFF
Send garbage on incoming connections (to avoid ISP p2p throterling) Default:OFF
i belive this tells the client to send a random block of data during uploading handshake, probably to avoid protocol detection or something
Send garbage on outgoing connections (to avoid ISP p2p throterling) Default:OFF
same as above but for downloading
Enable the webserver Default:OFF
if this option is on then then apex will listen on a port specified in the expert pane. It will produce a web page where you can search for files view your upload and download que and some other stuff
Detect Conflicting software Default:ON
if this option is on you will be shown a message if you have sofwtare the might conflick with dc e.g. zonealarm
Dont announce new ApexDC++ versions (vesion.xml is still dowlnoaded Default:OFF
if this option is on you will not be shown a message hen the newest version of apex is out
Activate search/userlist filter by Enter Default:OFF
if you turn this on then you will need to hit enter before your search on the userlist is performed. this option will save on resource for those that really need it
Save settings window state Default:OFF
When this option is the apex settings dialog bok will open straight to the page you where last viewing instead of the front page. e.g. if you where looking at user commands and closed the settings the next time you open settings tha page showed would be user commands
Enable $HubTopic support Default:OFF
if this option is on your client will support the $HupTopic protocol extention, this extention is used in verlihub. The $HubTopic command sends the topic of the hub to the client, similar to IRC.
Start hubs minimized Default:OFF
if this option is on then hubs will be minimized when you open them
Well i got them all bar to, i think I am sure someone will be able to say what those two are and if you have any corrections please feel free to post them :)